Little Richard's Life In 10 Songs

05.11.2020 - By All Songs Considered

Download our free app to listen on your phone

On this special edition of All Songs Considered, we look back at the life of rock and roll pioneer Little Richard through 10 of the defining songs of his career.

NPR Music Senior Director Lauren Onkey joins host Bob Boilen as they play singles from the early '50s up through his 1970 album, The Rill Thing.

1. "Tutti Frutti" (1955)
2. "Long Tall Sally (The Thing)" (1956)
3. "Get Rich Quick" (1952)
4. "Slippin' and Slidin' (Peepin' and Hidin')" (1956)
5. "The Girl Can't Help It" (1956)
6. "Lucille" (1957)
7. "Keep A Knockin' " (1957)
8. "Every Time I Feel The Spirit" (1960)
9. "I Don't Know What You've Got" (1965)
10. "Freedom Blues" (1970)

More episodes from All Songs Considered