If you’ve tried running ads to generate sales but ended up making a loss, then this episode is for you. We will look at the 7 key metrics to understand how e-commerce businesses have been printing money (legally) by putting in $1 and getting $2 and much more in return.
Assuming you already have a product that people are buying, and you have a functional online store, we can start talking about the logic of running ads. Your ad only has 1 purpose: getting people to click on it and visit your website.
Let’s start with FB ads, as it is the most important and largest platform for media buyers. Most of the key metrics I’m going to talk about will deal with cost and rate - like “cost per click”, and “click through rate”. You generally lower “cost” metrics and increase the “rate” metrics
So, when you place an ad, the first thing you will be charged for is impressions. Impression is a way for FB to tell you how many people are shown the ad. The key metric here is CPM - Cost Per 1000 Impressions. If your CPM is $10, then it costs $10 to have 1000 impressions. That means it costs $0.10 to show to one person. How to print more money? Lower your CPMs by targeting a broader audience, or having fresh, engaging and unique creatives.
The next metric is called CPC, or Cost Per Click. This is highly related to the third metric, called CTR, or Click-Through Rate. This is calculated by taking the number of clicks divided by the total number of impressions. Normally, the higher the CTR, the lower the CPC, which is great for business. Depending on your industry, CTR can vary between 1-5%, and CPC can be between $0.50-$1.50. How to print more money? Lower your CPCs and increase your CTRs by having your creatives be relevant, persuasive, and sometimes, clickbait. To quote Don Vito Corleone from The Godfather movie, make an offer they can’t refuse!
The 4th metric is called conversion rate, or CVR. This is calculated by the number of orders divided by the number of clicks. Depending on your industry, CVR can be between 1-5%. My personal best was around 7% and it was a great day. A 5th metric closely related to CVR is called CPP, or CPA, which refers to Cost Per Purchase, or Cost Per (Customer) Acquisition. This is calculated by taking your ad spend divided by your number of orders. How to print more money? Increase your CVR and decrease your CPP by having persuasive ad copy to increase the value, adding discounts where applicable, and de-risking your customers by offering MBG or a hassle-free returns process.
The 6th metric is called Average Order Value, or AOV. This is calculated by taking the your sales revenue and dividing by the number of orders. How to print more money? Increase AOV by starting with a high-ticket item, or use upsells, downsells, and cross-sells. We will cover increasing AOV more in depth in a future episode.
The 7th metric is called Return On Ad Spend, or ROAS. This is calculated by taking your revenue divided by ad spend. If you spend $100 on ads and got $200 in sales, then $200/$100 is 2 which means you got a 2 ROAS. If you spend $5k and got $30k in sales, you’ve got 6 ROAS, which is incredible. This is the holy grail of buying ads. How to print more money? Increase ROAS by doing all of the things mentioned previously: lower CPM, CPC, CPA, and increase CTR, CVR, and AOV.
[Example: Posture corrector, cost $10, price $40. CPM of $10, 2% CTR. Target CVR?]
If you’d like to increase your online presence, or maximise online sales, drop me an email with subject line Episode 15 to [email protected] and we can set up a call with my team to take your business to the next level. If you’ve enjoyed this episode, be sure to share, download or follow this podcast on Spotify, iTunes, or wherever you get your podcasts from.