Yesterday, the Federal Reserve finally met market expectations and increased interest rates to .25%
Actually, the official rate was 0 - .25 and now, the official rate is .25 to .5
The actual rate was always in the middle between zero and .25
Assuming the Fed tries to keep the rate closer to .25 than .5, the actual increase in rates could be less than 25 basis points
The initial reaction to this rate hike is to proclaim the end of the era of "cheap money"
.25% is still cheap money. Alan Greenspan never went below 1%.
Some people are saying "Peter Schiff was wrong" because the Fed did raise rates
Actually, in a recent podcast I noted that the Fed changed their narrative away from "data dependent" to an expression of faith in the economy, opening the door to a symbolic rate hike unsupported by data
I was alone throughout the year believing that the Fed would not raise rates prior to this change in narrative
The Fed was afraid that to not raise rates this year, it would be a vote of "no confidence" in the economy
Ultimately, the Fed felt that even though the data didn't justify it, they had to raise rates because of psychological damage to the markets
If the economy were really sound, we would not need Janet Yellen to express confidence in the economy - a strong economy creates its own confidence.
We don't need propaganda in the form of a symbolic rate hike
The Fed did not even have the last recession in their forecast until we were well into the recession, so who cares about the Fed's level of confidence?
In an earlier podcast, I referred to Ben Bernanke's comment that he felt he was a representative of the administration
Janet Yellen is creating a sense of confidence in the economy for the same reason
The Fed is now pretending that we will have more rate hikes in the future, forecasting 4 more hikes during 2016
I believe the economy is not strong enough to accommodate these rate hikes and neither does Janet Yellen
The ultimate irony is the data that came out the morning of the rate hike
Industrial Production: they were forecasting a drop of .2, which is still bad, instead, we got a drop of .6
The PMI Manufacturing Index was the lowest in many years, 51.3 down from 52.6
More bad news: The Philadelphia Fed last month showed an increase of 1.9, so 1.2 was forcasted - instead we dropped 5.9
These numbers show an economy that is decelerating
If you look at a chart, these numbers are about to crash even lower
These numbers are flashing recession, recession, recession
If you're a Keynsenian, the prescription for the condition this economy has would be stimulus, not an interest rates
The air was coming out of this bubble anyway, all the Fed did was increase the hole for the air to come out
The market was up just before the hike, which was interpreted as a green light to raise rates. I said in an earlier podcast that that would be a mistake, because the market would then tank, and that is what happened today
Transports have been the weakest of all, despite oil prices
We continue to see weakness in the high-yield bond market as the air is coming out of that bubble
It is probable that the stock market is going to get a lot worse between now and the time the Fed is supposed to hike rates again
But the problem for the Fed now, is if the market starts to tank now, they can't do anything until the jobs numbers begin to show weakness
Janet Yellen actually referred to this move as "ahead of the curve", meaning that if she waited any longer, she would overshoot on her objectives:
One was unemployment. How can that get too low? Especially with so many people out of the labor market, is she worried about the economy creating too many jobs?
She is talking about the outdated Phillips Curve, which states that too many people with jobs creates inflation
Then she said we might overshoot on GDP - meaning that if interest rates didn't go up, the GDP would be too strong.