The carnage in global stock and bond markets continues; it really got started last night in Japan
The JGB (Japanese Government Bonds) dropped for the 3rd consecutive day
The biggest 3-day drop in bond prices in Japan in over 3 years, so yields surging, along with the Japanese yen
Of course, this is not supposed to be happening because they're doing more stimulus and they've got negative interest rates, yet the Japanese yen is appreciating anyway
The Reserve Bank of Australia also came out last night and cut interest rates to 1.5%
That is an all-time record low
Why did they do that? Is it because there's not enough economic growth in Australia?
Are they trying to revive a slumping property market
They've got a bubble in the real estate market - there's no valid reason for cutting interest rates from already low levels
The actual reason that the Reserve Bank of Australia gave for the rate cut was that inflation was not high enough
It's about 1%, the way they measure it, and their goal is to have it between 2 and 3%
In other words, the cost of living is going up by 1% a year and the Reserve Bank of Australia says, "That's horrible! We need to make sure that things get at least 2-3% more expensive this year and we're going to slash interest rates to make sure that happens."
Of course, when you do that, you have all sorts of risks, and what is the payoff?
Why is the cost of living going up 2-3% better than it going up 1%?
What's wrong with the cost of living not going up at all?
How about if it actually went down? What if people could actually buy the things they need for less money?
What's horrible about the standard of living actually going up?
Of course, the real risk is, what if inflation goes from 1% (at least the way they measure it) to 4 or 5%?
Was it worth it? Now you have an inflation problem on your hands
If you've got 1% and you want 2% - You're close enough!
Obviously this has got nothing to do with inflation, they're simply trying to stop the rise in the Australian dollar
But the Australian dollar went up anyway!
They're trying to keep it down because they have this Keynesian world view that a weak currency is good and a strong currency is bad
But we've got to an inflection point where the central banks are losing this battle
The yen is rising despite the efforts to suppress it
The Aussie dollar went up, despite efforts to suppress it
The problem is, the U.S. economy is a disaster
We got the terrible GDP numbers, and we got a lot of other bad economic news today
We've got a lot more bad news coming out later in the week
We might get a horrific report on non-farm payrolls
We got that surprise good number last month, but who knows? We might revise that down and come up with another disappointing number on Friday
But the Fed, instead of acknowledging this, are still talking about rate hikes
In fact a Fed official just yesterday said the market should not rule out the possibility of a rate hike in September
First of all, if the economy comes roaring back (no chance that's going to happen)
Even if it comes back, they didn't say they WOULD raise interest rates, they said they might
Which also means they might not
It doesn't matter what happens to the economy, they can't raise rates
The economy is not getting better
We are either in recession or on the cusp of one
And the data continues to prove that, but the Fed continues to talk as if they're thinking about raising rates
That is part of the problem, because if the market doesn't believe that the Fed is coming to the rescue...
I said a long time ago that we could get rallies in the markets, but they are not going to be sustainable
The Fed is going to have to join the party
It will have to come to the aid of the markets with new stimulus
Just delaying rate hikes will not do it
The Fed has to join the other central banks in providing fresh ...