Well the Dow Jones got clobbered again today, down 252 points at the close
The NASDAQ down about 55
The transports continue to get clobbered down another 146 points, decisively in bear market territory
CNBC blamed the entire decline on jitters over North Korea's hydrogen bomb test
I admit that this prospect is not good, but I don't believe that announcement was the reason for the decline
The real problem is the Fed removing the monetary herion from the addicts on Wall Street and this is the withdrawal
Former President and CEO of the Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas, spoke on CNBC yesterday and he admitted that the Fed "engineered a stock market rally"
They wanted all this phony wealth to cause us to make irrational decisions
That's what happened during the dot com bubble and to a greater extent during the housing bubble
Here you have it from the words of a former Fed president, a voting member who voted for QE 1 & 2 who is saying that the Fed did this to create a "wealth effect"
He even said, don't be surprised if the market goes down 20% - it's still overvalued - he admits the Fed was propping it up
Obviously if the Fed removes the props the market will go down
After Simon Hobbs asked Fisher if he is going to apologize, he said," Don't blame me, I voted against QE3!"
He is throwing his colleagues, including Janet Yellen, under the bus
Now that he is no longer at the Fed, he refers to it as a "giant weapon that is out of ammunition"
The Fed still has ammo: cut rates (in this case, even to negative) and QE4, their big bazooka
There's plenty of ammo left and it will be fired a lot sooner than people think
Korea is an excuse, but Richard Fisher is letting the cat out of the bag, but no one in the media is picking up on this
Also in the markets today, while stocks were going down, gold was going up - gold hit a 2-month high today
As fast as it is going up in dollars, it is going up even faster in other currencies, like the Canadian dollar, which hit a 9-year low, the Australian dollar
The yen was up - the dollar/yen is breaking down - to me that is a very scary proposition for the markets to see this strength in the Japanese yen
Oil prices continued to drop, down another $2 today - we're trading below $34
Gold stocks were up - you'd think they would be up a lot more because mining costs are plunging and revenue is going up, but Wall Street is oblivious to the bargains that exist in the mining stocks
We got a lot of economic news today and most of it was, as is typically the case, bad
Yesterday vehicle sales were at a 6-month low
Last year was a record for auto sales, but December was a 6-month low despite all the Christmas giveaways
Meanwhile the inventory to sales ratio continues to rise - a new high since the 2008-2009 great recession
Also GM got clobbered today, down about 4% - already down 9% for the year and down more than 20% from its 52-wk high - that is a bear market
This is telling me that the auto bubble has popped
There are going to be a lot of layoffs in the auto sector - good, high-paying jobs
I have said that starting in January 2016 we would start to see layoffs because the numbers have been horrible
Sure enough, Macy's today announced a restructuring, laying off thousands of workers because of disappointing sales throughout the year
We will see a huge blow-up in the securitized market for auto loans
They layoffs are coming - the low unemployment number is the rear view mirror
Looking at the actual economy in the windshield is a disaster for jobs
This is deja vu - in 2008 the subprime market had already exploded - the housing market problems should have been obvious
Yet everybody said, "don't worry, it's contained." and I said why can't anybody see that everything I have been warning about for years is happening
People were still denying what I was saying even as the financial crisis had already begun